Words from Sir Winston’s American friend

« To Winston on his birthday. » November 30, 1944, by Franklin D. Roosevelt.

When visiting his home at Chartwell, Westerham, Kent, I remarked amongst the numerous presents Sir Winston Churchill received from all over the world, a printed word from Abraham Lincoln, dedicated to Churchill by another american president, Franklin D. Roosevelt. I was struck by the righteousness of Lincoln’s words :

« If I were trying to read, much less answer all the attacks made on me, this shop might well be closed for any other business. I do the best I know how, the very best I can; and I mean to keep on doing it to the end. If the end brings me out all right, what is said against me will not amount to anything. If the end brings me out all wrong, ten angels swearing I was right would make no difference. »

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

